March 10, 2008

What is the "Three NO(s)" resolution of September 1, 1967?

With typical Muslim hubris, the Three NO(s) resolution, also known as the Khartoum Resolution of 1967, was a result of a conference with heads of state from eight Arab countries in Khartoum, Sudan on August 29 to September 1, 1967.

The meeting formulated the Arab consensus that despite the fact that Israel has consistently reached out for peaceful coexistence with its neighbors, the Arabian nation would not do the same.

The resolution adopted September 1, 1967 called for the continued struggle against Israel, the creation of a fund to assist the economics of Egypt and Jordan, the lifting of an Arab oil boycott against the West and a new agreement to end the war in Yemen.

The best remembered action at Khartoum, however, was the adoption of the dictum of "Three NOs" with respect to Israel:

NO peace with Israel
NO recognition of Israel
NO negotiations with Israel

For more information on the Khartoum Resolution, see this.

For the text of the Resolution, see this, specifically paragraph #3.